Friday, March 7, 2014

When Courage Calls - Book Review

I received this book through the Bethany House Reviewers program in exchange for an honest review.  All opinions in this review are mine.

I just finished reading another outstanding book by Janette Oke and Laurel Oke Logan.
Cover Art

Where Courage Calls by Janette Oke and Laurel Oke Logan, is the newest novel in the When Calls the Heart series. It is also a special companion story to the Hallmark Channel's When Calls the Heart TV series.  

I have read all of the earlier books in this series, as well as most of Janette's other books, and was not disappointed in this book. 


Her courage and her heart will be tested in ways she never expected...

Beth Thatcher has spent her entire life in the safe, comfortable world of her family, her friends, and the social outings her father's wealth provides. But Beth is about to leave it all behind to accept a teaching position in the rugged foothills of western Canada. Inspired by her aunt Elizabeth, who went west to teach school several years ago, and gently encouraged by her father, Beth resolves to put her trust in God and bravely face any challenge that comes her way.

But the conditions in Coal Valley are even worse than she'd feared. A recent mining accident has left the town grieving and at the mercy of the mining company. The children have had very little prior education, and many of the locals don't even speak English. There isn't even a proper school house. In addition, Beth's heart is torn between tow young men-both Mounties, one a lifelong friend and the other a kind, quiet man who comes to her aid more than once.

Despite the many challenges, Beth is determined to make a difference in the rustic frontier town. But when her sister visits from the East, reminding her of all the luxuries she's had to give up, will Beth decide to return to her privileged life as soon as the school year is over?

Jannette and her daughter Laurel are wonderful story tellers! I found myself laughing, crying and falling in love with the characters in this book.  There are little surprises scattered throughout the book that keep you wondering what will happen next and not wanting to put the book down.  Beth turned out to be a lot stronger that she or her family ever thought she could be. She goes through some struggles but her faith in God is made even stronger because of them. She finds herself wanting to do everything she can to help the families that were affected by the mining accident, as well as the new miners that have been brought in to replace them.  In the end not only Beth changes but she helps change the lives of those around her.

I was disappointed when it ended and it left me wanting more. I hope there will be many more books in this series because I can't wait to find out what happens in the lives of the individuals and families in the story.

If you would like to find out more about Jannette Oke or Laurel Oke Logan, just click on their names to go to their web pages. You can also click on the book image above to find out more about the book or order one for yourself.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Hello Friends. Thank you so much for visiting my home here in blog land. Please leave me a comment, a hello, or just a smile :o). I Love to hear from you. Have a great day.